Sharing the araha

I like to share the aroha with the chickens but my Mummy says I can’t. She says I can’t share the love with the rabbits Bella and Quincy either. I do not think this is fair. I like to put my big furry head in the rabbits’ cage, but Bella and Quincy do not like me. They run away and hide from me. I wonder why? I think the rabbits are silly creatures, they do not do anything but sit and eat. My Daddy says they would be kept nice and warm in a pot on the stove with some onions, carrots and herbs. But my Mummy will not let him do that. She seems to like the rabbits. I cannot see why. The chickens do not like me either because I try to kiss them on the back of the neck. But the cows like me. I run around and bark at them, and then they chase me. My Daddy says I have to be careful because the cows could hurt me. I cannot see that. No one would want to hurt me. I am a maremma. The cows are my friends. We have four cows – Bubba, Forest, Oscar and Maisie. We have some sheep also. When I was a little cute puppy, I met a sheep. I did not like it. It jumped over me and traumatized me so much that I ran away. So much for being bred to guard sheep. I met a pig once. Pigs are funny creatures. I was not too sure about it. Sometimes, I find a hedgehog. I have to bark at it and let my family know that there is a hedgehog in a bush. My family does not appreciate my warning them of this potential danger. They tell me I am being silly and leave the hedgehog alone. Sometimes, at night I bark at the possums to let my family know that there is danger in the trees. My Daddy comes out with a torch and shines it up the big magnolia tree to see what I am barking at. He tells me I am being silly and to stop barking, but I do not. I have to let the possum know that I am watching out for him and he should be warned that I am there.

 Off I go for my early morning nap. Love Jasper the wonder dog from sunny Mangamahu, New Zealand

Thought you would like to see more photos of ME. (and those silly rabbits)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

