More about ME!! Part II

More about ME!!

1 – 2 pm. My Mummy says I need to practise being on a lead more often, so she makes me go for a walk. I do not like going for a walk. When my Aunty was staying she made ME!! go for walks. She said she was running the Spinster Aunt School for Correction and Discipline of Wayward and Errant Dogs. I do not understand this. I am neither wayward nor errant. So, off I go for a walk. We go down to see the big quince tree at the old school. We walk past the neighbours and their dogs start to bark. I think they do not like ME!!. I was so good. I did not bark at the cows or sheep and I did not bark at the peacock which flew out from behind a tree and startled ME!!. What I did not understand is people drove straight past me and did not stop to admire ME!!. This confuses ME!!.

2 – 3 pm After that long walk it is time for my mid afternoon nap. Good readers might notice that I sleep a lot. This is part of being a maremma. We are a guarding dog and are used to spending a lot of time in one place with our flock. But be warned, just because I look asleep does not mean I am not listening out for strange sounds and will be ready to leap up and protect my flock.

3 – 4 pm I am going to help my Mummy clean out the rabbit cage. I have mentioned those silly rabbits in another blog. Suffice to say I am very interested in eating the rabbit food that drops on the ground. Then my Mummy puts away those maundering chickens. Sometimes I find an egg in the garden. If I am clever, I can eat it before anyone finds out. I have to be with my Mummy when she is in the garden. Sometimes, my Mummy goes into the paddock next door to pick some dandelions for those silly rabbits. She lets ME!! come to. It is fun to run around in the paddock.

4 – 5 pm. My mummy is busy doing house work. She says that I make more housework for her because of my muddy paws and shedding of fur all over the floor, but she loves ME!! all the same. While my Mummy is doing house work I supervise my Daddy and Brother chopping wood by the woolshed. While I am at there I visit the sheep and have a good sniff around the woolshed.

5 – 6 Time for my late afternoon nap. I try and position myself in the most annoying place on the floor, so my family have to trip over me. I like to do a sniff test of the bench just in case interesting and delectable titbits have been left on the bench for ME!! to eat. Unfortunately, after the four steaks, banana cake, and bacon and egg pie incidents they do not leave food out to tempt ME!!.

6 – 7 Time for my dinner. Then I will do my evening patrol around the section just to make sure everything is in order. Then I will settle down for a busy evening watching TV with my family. Then it is off to bed.

See loyal readers you will see that I live a busy and productive life in sunny Mangamahu. Love Japer the wonder dog.

ME!! lying in the middle of the kitchen floor having a nap

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

