AKC Canine Good Citizen Test

My mummy found out about this test and she thought it would be fun if I took it.

Test 1: Accepting a friendly stranger – I’d eat them alive if I could! Just ask the neighbour when he came to deliver some wood. He had to take refuge in his car until Daddy could tie me up.

Test 2: Sitting politely for petting – Sit, polite…me?
Test 3: Appearance and grooming – I’m handsome enough as it is without any of that poncy stuff although I do like to be brushed.  I like to drop lots of snowy white fur on the carpet.
Test 4: Out for a walk (walking on a loose lead) – I don’t need a lead to go for a walk. I don’t walk anyway; I romp in my play paddock.

Test 5: Walking through a crowd – I was beautifully behaved when I went to a wedding this year and I was so good at the Collegiate rugby as long as I am given the attention that I crave and deserve.
Test 6: Sit and down on command and Staying in place – only if a nice juicy scrap off the dinner table is involved.

Test 7: Coming when called – Ha, ha, ha…I am falling over with the silliness of that suggestion.
Test 8: Reaction to another dog – Ask Farmer Rae’s dogs.
Test 9: Reaction to distraction – Life is one big distraction.
Test 10: Supervised separation – Is that when daddy and my brother go to the woolshed and don’t let me come? I don’t like that and tell them and the whole valley so.  Or when Nellie wiggles under the fence and I have to sit at the fence and make little pathetic noises because I can’t join her.

Here is a link to the test: http://www.daneworld.com/Nov09-TEXT-AKC-CGCProgram.htm

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AKC Canine Good Citizen Test

  1. Hi Jasper, our mum showed us your blog and we laughed a lot at your absolutely astute analysis of that silly test. Sitting, coming, walking on a lead: these may be useful attributes to normal dogs, not we Marvelous Mischievous Maremmas… life is an adventure to be lived and loved!! tasty treats to be gobbled, rules to be broken, fence holes to be squeezed through, and lots of loving furry cuddles to the humans who we are awfully fond of … woof woof woofka!! x Freya and Rosamond, Ravensnsbourne, Australia

  2. Cara says:

    My maremma took this test and passed, she is also a therapy dog as well, the two go hand in hand. Maybe write blog on a silly owner taking a maremma to visit the sick and the dying, and giving people and children a little bit of joy in their lives. Maybe if more people worked with their dogs and took these silly test, less dogs would end up in shelters. Guess I will not be posting Bebhinn’s achievement to any more forums.

Leave a Reply

