Another view of Me and Nellie

Me playing with my towel

Hello loyal readers, Jasper’s and Nellie’s auntie here. Thought I’d spill the beans on Jasper and Nellie in true tabloid style…actually there are no beans to spill, but that sounds better than “here is my perspective”. 

Jasper and Nellie are not like normal dogs that do all those doggy things like walking on a lead, responding to commands and are generally obedient. True to their breeding, they are “free spirits”. Why just yesterday I needed to tie them up while I went out. They were at the end of the driveway and do you think they’d come when I called? No siree, we are maremmas; we have cloth ears they said. So I had to walk to the end of the driveway and entice them back by throwing a stick. Pathetic!

 They also like to bark – a lot. Especially at night outside my bedroom window at random things like the moon, passing vehicles, my skis and just to let the whole valley know they are there. Yesterday they took off in a spray of stones down the driveway to indulge in some frenzied barking at a truck going up the neighbour’s driveway – of course the truck took no notice of them. Don’t get me started on the daily ritual of barking at the mailman or Farmer Rae and his dogs.

 They REALLY don’t like strangers. I’ve had to restrain Jasper from tearing both the plumber and electrician to bits when they came to do some work on the property. I even had to lock Jasper in the bathroom during one visit. Not that they are horrible vicious dogs – they just want to protect their human flock.

 Jasper isn’t the sharpest knife in the drawer. Actually he’s a bit of a doofus, but Nellie has managed to teach him some things like stealing eggs from the hen house and wriggling under fences. Who said you can’t teach old dogs new tricks, or in Jasper’s case any tricks at all.

 

Well, that’s about it. Time for me to give them their breakfast, which is another story in itself….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

