The many names of a maremma

Me and Nellie down at the new gate.

Me and Nellie down at the new gate.

Greeting loyal readers and fellow maremmas. Over on the maremma community message board they were talking about maremmas and how they got their names. Now, as loyal readers know daddy wanted to call Me Ceaser, however, mummy, brother and sister all thought that was a silly name and Jasper would suit a little puppy like Me so much better. Brother said he named Me after a Brian’s gay cousin from a TV programme called Family Guy. Now, when I was a little puppy I was a bit naughty and like to chew anything I could get my little puppy mouth around. Nothing was safe from Me. Shoes, sister’s homework, socks, tea towels, tissues. You name it, I’d chew it. For a long time I honestly thought my name was “Jasper you little sh&t” because every time my family saw Me with something that is what they would say.  But, as I got older and wiser I stopped chewing so many things. Auntie refers to Me and Nellie as the DDDD (dirty, disgraceful, diggy dogs).  Mummy calls Me a “great furry lump”, especially when I am standing on her toes or when I am putting my head in the silly rabbits cage.  Nellie, just gets called a good dog.  Do you like the photos mummy took this morning? It was -3.5 C degrees this morning, so think of Me and Nellie having a snooze in front of the fire.  Love Jasper and Nellie, two very cold maremmas.

Mummy's garden covered with frost.

Mummy’s garden covered with frost.

Looks cold!!!

Looks cold!!!

Our play lawn covered with frost.

Our play lawn covered with frost.

The sheep warming themselves in the early morning sun.

The sheep warming themselves in the early morning sun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The many names of a maremma

  1. Clowie says:

    They used to make up lots of rude names for me when I was a puppy!

Leave a Reply

