Rain, Rain Go Away

“For the rain, it raineth every day”.

Act V, Scene I, Taming of the Shrew.

 

Me and Nellie at the gate.  Notice Nellie is carrying her bone around.  She does not want Me to get my paws on it!!

Me and Nellie at the gate. Notice Nellie is carrying her bone around. She does not want Me to get my paws on it!!

Well, that just about sums it up.  It has been raining for days and days.  Mummy says that there are puddles in the paddocks that she has never seen before.  She is worried that her newly planted daffodil bulbs will rot in the ground because of all the rain.  The cows have churned up the grass and turned it into mud.  Me and Nellie are sick of being muddy and therefore not allowed inside, to sit on the carpet and take our rightful place, snoozing in front of the fire.  The only good thing is that it is not too cold.  Mummy reminded Us, it was this time last year that it snowed over most of New Zealand.  Loyal readers will remember that Me and Nellie did not like being in snow, which mummy says is a bit odd considering maremmas as a breed live in the Alps of Italy.   A place where it snows.   You can see some photos of Me and Nellie in the snow.  https://jaspersdoggyworld.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/a-maremma-in-snow/

Me and Nellie are still concerned because We overheard mummy telling auntie that she is working this weekend and it will be daddy who is taking Me and Nellie to the V.E.T.   Off Me and Nellie go.  We can hear someone at the cottage and We must rush over and bark at them, through the six foot high fence that has appeared.  Love Jasper and Nellie.

Puddles, Puddles and more Puddles

Puddles, Puddles and more Puddles

Our house

Our house

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rain, Rain Go Away

  1. I’m beginning to think we are from the same pack separated at birth, except I’m black (well, silver now) and you’re white and about three times as big!!
    I am from Tibet, full of snow and I hate the stuff! Beloved tells me for a sure footed mountain dog I trip up a lot!!
    I am definitely an indoor guy, I made that plain when I was little and fortunately managed to train Beloved well. It sounds like you two have jobs to do though and I have to admit my only job is to keep Beloved warm which I do by sitting close or on her, even though I am a little on the large side for a lap dog 🙂

    • We could be twins. Mummy says We could be like Arnold Schwarzenegger and Daddy DeVito in a movie called Twins. We are a like because like you I have to be stuck to my mummy at all times. Where mummy goes, I go. Mummy says it very annoying having a 50 kilo, white furry shadow following her around all the time, especially in the garden. If, I am not allowed inside, I sit outside the door and make funny pathetic sounds until someone takes pity on Me and lets Me in.
      Me and n
      Nellie must go, Mummy is looking for something in the kitchen and We must be there to supervise her. Love Nellie and Jasper

  2. I don’t mind the rain, snow or the mud….but I don’t like the baths that follow.
    You have a lovely big house and garden, bet you get to do lots of zoomies 🙂

  3. Me and Nellie are not too sure what zoomies are. Is that when you run round and round, through mummy’s garden chasing each other? If that is so, then Me and Nellie do lots of zoomies especially around the large magnolia tree and down to the fence where We can bark at the neighbours.

  4. How weird that you don’t like snow. it’s meant to be “your thing”. And by the way, muddy or not, you are far to beautiful to have to stay outside – shame on your slaves.

  5. Clowie says:

    That bone looks as though it’s picked up some flavouring in the garden – just the way I like them!

    • Yes, Me and Nellie like our bones to have a certain mature flavour. This is only achieved by letting the bone sit, half buried in mummy’s garden for a number of months. Then it is dug up and carried around as a trophy. Me and Nellie have learnt, however, that it is not a good idea to try and bring a nicely matured bone inside indulge in a little chew upon ones bed. For some reason my family do not appreciate our smelly flavoursome bones and will not let Us inside. Me and Nellie do not understand. Off We go. It is almost time for our morning dinner and We must be prepared. Love Nellie and Jasper.

  6. Hello, Jasper and Nellie – wow! that bone looks – er – flavoursome! I don’t bury things in the garden: if I have a bone, I like to eat it on my outside settee – preferably in one go! 🙂

    Sorry to hear it’s still raining where you are. It’s been pouring again here…

    Big WOOFS from Solo 🙂

Leave a Reply

