The many meanings of the word “Sit”

See I can sit

See I can sit

Greeting loyal readers. My family were discussing the many definitions of the word “sit”.  According to an online dictionary it means:

sit

1    [sit] Show IPA verb, sat or ( Archaic ) sate; sat or ( Archaic ) sit·ten; sit·ting.

verb (used without object)

1.

to rest with the body supported by the buttocks or thighs; be seated.
2.

to be located or situated: The house sits well up on the slope.
3.

to rest or lie (usually followed by on  or upon ): An aura of greatness sits easily upon him.
4.

to place oneself in position for an artist, photographer, etc.; pose: to sit for a portrait.
5.

to remain quiet or inactive: They let the matter sit.
But what does it mean to a maremma.  Well, you would be surprised to know that it means many things..  Mummy asked a few of our New Zealand maremma friends what “sit” means and here are a few of their comments.
It is “I guess I have done something wrong, but have no idea what…..ok I will sit in my own good time, just hang on a minute!””
Sit” means “you have obviously got something nice for me and I will sit when I have checked that you aren’t kidding me!
“Sit means Tux bars, and I aint gonna sit if you don’t have one.
To Me and Nellie it means. “Oh have you said something mummy, sorry I wasn’t paying any attention, can you repeat it again. Oh, “sit”.   Now does that mean I should place my rear end on the ground and look attentive and interested in what you are saying, or should I look or walk the other way until you have repeated that word again.  Oh, you have said it again, and now you are starting sound somewhat annoyed with Me and Nellie. How can that be? Are We not the bestest maremmas in the land.  Oh, you have said that word again.  Oh, well I suppose I could sit.  Will I get a tasty treat? No, tasty treat.  That’s not fair.  Everyone else gets tasty treats.   Supposed We’d better do as We re told.   So We sit.
Those peasky chickens!!

Those pesky chickens!!

Mummy was silly enough to plant some pansies and she forgot to put any chicken wire around the planter box.  So, those pesky chickens dug up all the plants.  She was most annoyed with those pesky chickens.  Tomorrow I will tell you all about my adventure in town.  Love Jasper and Nellie, who are going to help mummy move some lavender around today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The many meanings of the word “Sit”

  1. For some reason when Beloved tells me to ‘sit’ – I do. I cannot explain it. It must be something in my genes. She discovered early on that ‘come’ doesn’t work very well with Tibbies. We know what it means and we will eventually obey but definitely in our own time if it suits us. And if we are a slightly naughty Tibbie who has just got out of the garden ‘come’ will not wash. But she only has to tell me to ‘sit & stay’ and for some reason it is as if my brain shuts down and I do it.
    Of course it means there is no loss of face for me because she has to come to me but even as she approaches and I know that my freedom or whatever I am doing is about to be stopped, I cannot move. It is very strange and I cannot account for it.
    But at least I always get a treat and a love 🙂

    • Mummy says she couldn’t even begin to tackle the complex notion of what the word ‘come” could potentailly mean to a maremma. She says she is not ready to write a doctoral thesis. Whatever that means. Because Me and Nellie have to be with mummy at all times, We are quite good at coming when she calls Us, but only it there is nothing interesting around to smell or bark at. Love Nellie and Jasper

  2. Kylla says:

    Here, the rabbits would have eaten the pansies before the chickens even thought about digging them up. The rabbits eat everything but weeds. Why is that?

    • We do not many wild rabbits here in the sunny Mangamahu valley but we have two pet rabbits called Bella and Quincy. I am forever getting in trouble for putting my large white head in the rabbit cage and trying to eat their tasty rabbit food.

  3. Clowie says:

    I usually sit when asked, just as soon as it’s convenient to do so. I look for a comfortable spot first though!

  4. Kylla says:

    I forgot to tell you-the first time They told me to “sit” I misheard and pooped right there.

  5. I’m more likely to sit if there is a treat involved. I do my best upright ‘I’m a good girl’ sit when there are treats:-) Without treats I may need a bit more persuasion bol

  6. fostrickson says:

    You know, Toady has the same “sit” meanings as you. It depends on if I have a treat for him, and how good it is.

  7. Dogs N Pawz says:

    I only sit if I know I am going to get a treat! Mom gets annoyed with me cause I was sent off to obedience school for a couple of months by my first humans. Mom says I was trained to sit and she can’t figure out why I won’t do it when I am told to? It’s not that hard to figure out mom…I will sit only if I see a treat in your hand! Doh!

    Wags and Woofs,
    ~Scout

  8. Hi Jasper and Nellie!
    BOL! You guys are too funny- we’re so glad we found you (though at this hour or the evening we can’t remember how…). We sit like you too though- if there isn’t even a hint of food scent anywhere, there will be no schnauzer butts sitting down. But if it looks like mama is holding something we are poised to sit, though sometimes our wagging nub tails get in the way of that.
    Your furbuddies,
    Joules & Prescott

  9. Aaaah…… “sit”. Now there’s a word. I’m not very good at “sit” – many greyhounds aren’t (apart from my greyt friend the Gorgeous Beryl) as it can be quite a difficult concept for us hounds to grasp… I feel much better about this whole no-sitting business now that I’ve read your blog tonight. 🙂

    Big WOOFS from Solo 🙂

Leave a Reply

