‘Possums that go bump in the night

Showing my family where the dangerous 'possum is

Showing my family where the dangerous ‘possum is

Greeting oh loyal readers and fellow maremmas.  Last Saturday night after my triumphal day in town, mummy went to put Me and Nellie to bed.  It was dark and she was tired and wanted to go to bed.  Nellie was a good dog and she was waiting on the deck, but I was nowhere to be seen.  She called my name but there was no response.  She couldn’t hear Me barking.  She called for Me some more, but nothing. In exasperation she called brother to come and see if he could find Me.  Now as loyal readers know, I am large and white and kinda stick out like sore thumb even in the dark. He gapped a torch and went looking for Me.  He found Me.  I was down by the gate to the woolshed, assuming  my ‘possum position. You know the one fellow maremmas, nose in the air pointing towards the dangerous ‘possum.  As it was dark it was hard for brother to see the ‘possum  but it was there, believe Me.  After some time, family were getting cold and they all wanted to go to bed, so they dragged Me back to  my bed.  It is not fair, so I got my revenge and had a nice bark-a-thon.  Needless, to say the neighbour’s dogs all joined in and a good time was had by all.  For some reason family did not appreciate Me and Nellie’s efforts and came out and yelled at Me and Nellie to keep quite.  Off Me and Nellie go.  We are very tired and need to take a late morning nap, to prepare ourselves for our early afternoon snooze. Love Jasper and Nellie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘Possums that go bump in the night

  1. Kyla says:

    A little noise never hurt anyone

  2. Oh that’s really not fair… who can sleep if the ‘enemy’ is outside…

  3. Sounds like you did a good job!

    I’m a sound sleeper, like my Dad. The only thing that worries me is the sound of a gun firing. Then I’m inside like a shot, head under the covers.

    Big WOOFS from Solo 🙂

  4. sandyrobinson says:

    We live in Hamilton and Zak has recently discovered hedgehogs! Just like his predecessor, Max, he has a special bark just for them and it is SO SO SO LOUD and, of course, happens when it is dark and the neighbours with small children are trying to get some much needed sleep.

  5. Me and Nellie are very aware of the danger of hedgehogs. You never know where they might appear and be a threat to our family. You can read about our brave actions in defending our family from those hedgehogs.
    https://jaspersdoggyworld.wordpress.com/2012/01/07/intruder-alert/

  6. Sounds to me like you needed to warn everyone about the possum lurking about. Good job!

Leave a Reply

