A day in the life of a maremma, Part I

Me helping mummy with the worm farm.

Me helping mummy with the worm farm.

Greeting loyal readers and fellow maremmas. I thought you loyal readers would be interested in reading about what Me and Nellie do each day. It will give you a better understanding of Me and Nellie!!

4 – 5 am. We like indulge in a little moon barking (that means barking at the moon regardless of actually being able to see it) , just to focus our mind on the coming day’s activities. Sometimes this wakes my family up and they tell Us off. I do not understand why, after all it is good for Me and Nellie to get in touch with our inner doggy.

5 – 6 am. We like to have a rest after our moon barking. Neither Me and Nellie  use a kennel. As a maremma I need to have a 360 degree view of my surroundings to see any potential threats looming. I need to watch all entrances to my property. I like to sit on the corner of the deck to do this. It is also close to the doors to the kitchen so I can see who is coming and going.

6 – 7 am. This is the time my Mummy gets up and gives  Us our breakfast. Sometimes I do not eat my breakfast, but when those maundering chickens are let out, my attention is often focused on my uneaten breakfast. I do not like those chickens eating my food. My mummy goes out in the garden to get some food for them rabbits, We have to accompany her.

7 – 8 am. Time for our early morning nap. My Mummy likes to check her emails and see if anyone has read our blog. My Daddy sometimes comes out and plays with Me and Nellie.  This is the time that Farmer Rae comes and drives down the right of way next to our paddock.  Me and Nellie like to have a woof-a-thon with this dogs, to see who can bark the loudes.  Needless to say Me and Nellie always win.

8 – 9 am. Time for morning patrol. We go around our property and make sure everything is as it should be. I like to run around the tennis court and see the cows. I am trying to get into the chicken run, so I might stop off there and have a little dig to try and get under the wire fencing. So far I have been unsuccessful, but time is on my side. Me and Nellie blame S.O.D, but it is really Us.

9 – 10 am. Time for our mid morning nap. If, my Daddy is home I like to rest under the kitchen table. My Daddy says I take up too much room and he cannot get his legs under the table, but it is comfortable there, so that is where I sleep. Nellie meanwhile, likes to sleep between daddy’s chair and the wall, thus giving daddy absolutely no room to move at all.  At this time of the year Me and Nellie are moulting, so there is snowy, white fur all over the floor, furnishings and just about everything else in the house.

10 – 11 am. If my Mummy is out in the garden, I have to supervise her. She says that if she got rid of ME and Nellie!! (heaven forbid), the rabbits, and the chickens and spent a vast amount of money and took six months off work, she too could have a garden like those she sees in those gardening magazines. Those chickens are out so I have to keep an eye on them.

11 – 12 pm Time for a play with  Brother. It is fun to run around the lawn. My Daddy says our play lawn is bigger than their section when they lived in the city. Imagine living is such a small area. It would be no good for Us to live in the city. We might have time to fit in another patrol before having our early afternoon nap.

12 – 1 pm After our early afternoon nap, We accompany my Daddy out to inspect the paddock to see the sheep and cows. My Daddy wants to get a pig. Why I do not know; pigs are strange creatures. My Mummy says we can get a pig, if we get a house cow. Her uncle says he will build my Mummy a portable milking machine plant. Daddy says he can move around the property so much easier if he did not have two white shadows.

Watch out for Part II soon.  The weather here in the sunny Mangamahu valley is not good, so Me and Nellie are safe and warm, inside with Mummy in the com-pu-ter room.  Love Nellie and Jasper.

Me and Nellie down at the front gate waiting for mummy to come home.

Me and Nellie down at the front gate waiting for mummy to come home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A day in the life of a maremma, Part I

  1. Will and Eko says:

    4AM!!! Eko would be in serious trouble if he ever woke up me at four! Other than that, life sound great on the farm.

  2. 4am! Mummy once told us off when whee broke our water bottle at 5 in the morning and it crashed to the floor loudly! It was funny watching the hoomans stumble around all bleary eyed and half asleep. Not sure they found it so funny though! 🙂

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  3. Carol Gunn says:

    Balagan kennels Maremmas, Sharna, Sophie, Itai, Issy and now Solomon and Sasha (they are a bit little still) do a how- a-thon in the morning. It sound really musical to our eays, but our Mummy tells us off too!! can’t think why.

  4. Martha Wood says:

    I just love this blog. I am a city girl with a small poodle. One day I hope to have a slightly bigger yard and maybe another dog. So glad J and N have so much room to play! They sound like such lucky dogs and I know you feel lucky to have them. Good times.

  5. catchatcaren says:

    my goodness you are busy doggies!! You have such a rigid schedule! Do you know that often I eat breakfast at 5am? Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. Boomdeeadda says:

    Oh, you do have so much on your schedule. I like to sleep in till at least 8am…then coffee..then breakfast. You seem to get lot’s accomplished in between naps, good for you. Watch out for them chickens, they can peck at you while you’re digging up their house.

  7. Katie says:

    Wow, what a busy day and an early start! Hopefully your moon barking doesn’t come close to Cocco’s hungry squealing…the whole vicinity would be up!
    -Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  8. A pig? That’s a good idea! Pigs are very clever and you can teach them a lot of tricks :o)

  9. That is what mummy and daddy are concerned about. They know pigs are very cleaver and could lead Me and Nellie astray. Not that We really need much leading, We are very capable of getting into trouble of our own accord. Love Nellie and Jasper.

  10. Echo & Link says:

    Hi guys, it’s so nice to meet you. Thank you for visiting our blog !!
    Woouooo, what nice days you two have !! We a sooo not morning doggies, we nap almost all morning. The human says we is rid of us until 11 AM, how rude !!!
    Have a nice week end.

    Woos of love.

    Echo & Link

  11. I’m lucky if I drag myself out of bed by 7:30am! What are you thinking?

    I wish I had all those critters to take care of. I would think a pig would be great…someone to roll in the mud with!

  12. Mag (Chancy's Mumsy) says:

    It seems you all have a very well planned out day. We are snoozing while you are barking at the moon. My day starts later than yours. Hugs and nose kisses

  13. Wow you are busy!! Hope you get plenty of naps to keep your strength up 🙂

  14. Me and Nellie are very busy. After all, We have our mummy flock to protect when she is out in the dangerous garden.

  15. tylersat99 says:

    Wow, what a busy schedule you have so its nice you have naps in between. We get up with Dad at 6:00 to go outside and to make sure he is OK until he leaves for work. Since we do not like breakfast we come inside and nap until 11:00 when we go out front to do our neighborhood watch. If Mom and Dad are gone we would be waiting by the gate for them just like you.

  16. You and Nellie are very busy!

Leave a Reply

