Preparation for the Great Mangamahu Pumpkin competition

Noticifaction of the start of the Great Mangamahu Pumpkin growing contest.

Notification of the start of the Great Mangamahu Pumpkin growing contest.

Greeting loyal readers.  Well, it is that time of the year again, when mummy’s thoughts turn to pumpkin growing.  Yesterday she received in the mail  notification that the pumpkins seeds are ready to be delivered (Upon payment of $5.)

So, this morning she took Me for a walk to the neighbour’s place to pay her money. I was such a good dog walking on my lead.

See, Me on my lead.

See, Me on my lead.

The Neighbour’s cow came over to see Me.

Mummy had saved some seeds from last year’s giant pumpkin and has started growing them.  Also, in preparation she brought some pony-poo, but she says she will need lots more during the growing season.

Bags of pony-poo

Bags of pony-poo

So, loyal readers if you have any handy hints on how to grow giant pumpkins, can you let mummy know.  Goodness knows she will need all the assistance she can get.  Love Nellie and Jasper, the two bestest maremmas in all the land.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Preparation for the Great Mangamahu Pumpkin competition

  1. Kyla says:

    You’re asking ME?? We tried, but have so many hungry bunnies that it is impossible. He does asparagus in pots off the ground, but pumpkins need room. We have the room, but also the rabbits. Don’t blame me, I’m inside most of the time and can’t get to them.

  2. tylersat99 says:

    We have not been able to grow pumpkins we have to buy ours, but I wish your Mom lots of luck. I hope she can grow a huge pumpkin:-)

  3. Zena says:

    We’re a pumpkin free zone, none here I’m afraid.

  4. I have no hints, our harvest is always pitiful :o) but I wish you may have the biggest pumpkin ever :o)

  5. Mummy doesn’t have green fingers so no idea. But i’ve heard that talking to plants helps them grow, so perhaps if you bark extra loudly at them they’ll get big and strong!

  6. Maggie says:

    I do not know much about growing pumpkins, just eating pumpkins treats so I wish your mum lots of luck with growing. Also FYI…pony poo is awesome to roll around in! Don’t tell your mum I told you this. Wagging wordless Wednesday.

  7. Dougall says:

    The only gardening I know about is the digging kind… Do you need help digging?

  8. dogdaz says:

    Pumpkins! We love pumpkin. Mommy gives it to us in bones and stuff. Grow some biggies. – Lulu Belle and Sofie Bear of DogDaz

  9. catchatcaren says:

    we don’t have any hints about growing pumpkins, but we sure can’t wait to watch the progress of yours!
    That cow looked super sweet! I like cows! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Katie says:

    Hehe don’t ask us! Cocco would take the pumpkin OR the seeds 🙂 What a lovely walk!
    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  11. Heck. I get mine out of a can, so how would I know? 🙂

    I have something sweet for you! Come see: http://wp.me/p10wZH-1jT

Leave a Reply

