The big dry

Me and Nellie looking at the frog We found in the garden.  Frogs live in the the water troughs.

Me and Nellie looking at the frog We found in the garden. Frogs live in the water troughs.

Greetings loyal readers and fellow maremmas. And so it has come to pass that the whole of the North Island of New Zealand  (all 113,729 km2)  has been declared a drought zone for the first time in 30 years.  That is nearly half the country.   It means that farmers will be able to get some financial relief and government support.  Me and Nellie are pleased that this has happened.  When mummy drives into town she is seeing less and less stock in the paddocks as more and more of them are sent away, either to the South Island or to some place called “the works”.  Me and Nellie do not know of this place called “the works”, but it doesn’t sound like a fun place to be.   Tomorrow mummy is going to Palmerston North, so she says she will take some photos of the dry parched Manawatu countryside.  In the meantime you will have to make do of some more photos of Me and Nellie being our usual cute and adorable selves.   Love Nellie and Jasper.010009

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The big dry

  1. Kyla says:

    Is that what is meant when I order a sandwich with “the works”?

  2. b9k9 says:

    Hi Jasper and Nellie, it’s Me, Ninnie! My uncle is worried about you two, and he says to tell your Mum to go Google (whatever that means) “dog eat corn cob” asap. Or just go here:
    http://vetmedicine.about.com/od/nutritioninformation/f/FAQ_corncob.htm
    for some quick information.

    And you two meanwhile, stay away from that corncob!! It doesn’t squeak anyway Jasper, so where’s the fun in that? Not going to keep anyone awake at night …

    Oh, and while your mum is at it, tell her to also Google “dog eat grapes” (oh, and raisins), because that’s not good either, and my uncle remembers your Mum mentioning you have a grapevine growing over the patio.

    So sorry to hear it’s so dry over-there, and quite amazing to think that you are “just across the ditch” from us here, and we’ve recently had flooding rains twice in a month!

    And, believe it or not, I love the wet. My uncle says I am a swamp-dog (among many other things he calls me), something to do with the original meaning of the Italian word “Maremma”. I wouldn’t know, I may be an Italian Sheepdog and all, but I don’t speak Italian. But I love my pretend-swims; I walk around on the bottom of dams and creeks pretending to swim. But it’s just too scary not having my feet on the ground, and I always make sure not to get in too deep. And the other swamp-dog thing I like to do (says my uncle) is to run along through shallow water in the park and scoop up water and drink as I splash water everywhere. And you should see my sis Pip! Uncle says she’s a real water-rat. I’m not sure that’s a nice thing to say about my Border-Collie sis?

    Anyway, got to run, things to woof at. Really hope you get rain soon! And we love all the photos! Oh, and tell your Mum where you found that corncob in case there’s any more of them …

    Love from Ninnie, the prettiest Maremma in the Queen’s Land.

  3. We hope you guys are keeping safe. Looks like you know where the shade is!

  4. Zena says:

    Wow! Officially in a drought – so glad the farmers will get help

  5. Nikitaland says:

    Our area has never been declared a drought before as we live in a city, but we do remember a lot of really hot and dry summers where we did all we could to keep our lawn watered & green. Until we got the water bill, yikes – that hurt! We are thinking about purchasing rain barrels to attach to our gutters to catch the rain water, just so we can water our garden this summer. That will help a lot with the water bill. I hope you guys get some rain soon! Do you guys chew on ice cubes? We love chewing on them! Every time Mommy puts them in our water bowl, we dive in to get them and run all over the house with them!

  6. emma says:

    That is so sad…I sure hope you get rain soon.

  7. catchatcaren says:

    oh my goodness that is awful. Does “government support” mean that they are going to help with watering and all? I don’t mean to be stupid but I don’t know 😦

  8. I hope you will get some rain and I’m glad your Farmers will get help. …is that a pumpkin in the first picture?

  9. We are so sorry about the drought but glad that the farmers will get the help they deserve.

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  10. raisingdaisy says:

    Oh droughts are no fun at all. How awful this is happening, but it seems to be an issue around the globe lately. We love seeing pictures of you though! That always makes us smile. 🙂

  11. Will and Eko says:

    Oh man, hopefully you guys get some rain soon, but it’s good to know you will have some relief in the meantime.

  12. Boomdeeadda says:

    Sounds like a lot of places in the world are either getting too much, or not enough rain. I wish it would even out. Stay cool!

  13. Sorry to read about your drought! (I think we have all your wet weather here in New England!)

  14. *sigh* send some nice weather our way. It’s raining again here . . .

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  15. Lynn Delage says:

    I could never get tired of seeing pictures of you two beautiful doggies. I’m sorry for your drought. We had one for several years but it has been broken in the last few months. I hope yours does not last very long.

  16. dougalldog says:

    Would you like me to do a rain dance??

  17. We are hoping for rain for you soon! Lee and Phod

  18. Sage says:

    I sure hope rain comes your way soon, Jasper. Parts of the US has been in drought conditions for a while too, so I know how devastating it is.

Leave a Reply

