It’s my pine cone!!

See Me playing with my pine cone.

See Me playing with my pine cone.

Greeting loyal readers and fellow maremmas.  Today mummy was bringing more wood over from the woodshed and what should I see, but a pine cone.  A pine cone for Me!!.  It’s my pine cone and I’ll play with it if I want to.  Mummy can’t understand my attraction to pine cones, but I can.  They are lovely and crunchy and all Mine.

 

IMG_2594

A selfie of Me, the handsome one.

A selfie of Me, the handsome one.

Happy Birthday to sister.  Mummy made her a feijoa and chocolate cake and as loyal readers know, mummy is not one of life’s little bakers. But she says even she could make the cake.

IMG_2578Love Nellie and Jasper, the two bestest maremmas in all the land.

PS the recipe for the birthday cake.  From http://hinterlandfeijoas.com.au/feijoa-chocolate-cake/

Feijoa chocolate cake.
This recipe came from the fantastic thinkingaboutfood blog and is a great alternative to a plain old chocolate cake. When first baked the spices somewhat override the feijoa, but if you bake day prior and keep it, the feijoa shines through. I have found that most cakes with feijoa keep and freeze very well and often improve the next day. Even my teenage son, a famous chocolate cake connoisseur, likes this cake!
185g butter
3/4 c caster sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 c peeled chopped feijoas (or frozen pulp)
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2c SR flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 c cocoa
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 c sour cream. (or full cream plain yoghurt)

Heat oven to 180c.
Combine feijoas, brown sugar and cinnamon in bowl and set aside.
Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time.
Stir sour cream into feijoa mix and combine well.
Sift dry ingredients into creamed butter/sugar/eggs and add in feijoa mix, combine well. Transfer batter into prepared tin (I use a ring tin) and smooth top evenly. Bake 40-45mins, or until skewer/knife comes out clean. Sit for 5 mins before turning out.

Ice with either plain icing or a sour cream ganache – Nigella Lawsons’ is recommended on the blog and is superb.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s my pine cone!!

  1. Cupcake says:

    I like cake. And pine cones. I’m not allowed to eat either one…. Bummer.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  2. I agree for the pine cones…. I have my favorite pine cone too… it’s shredded to pieces but it’s mine :o) Happy Happy Birthday to your sis!

  3. Kismet says:

    I have a cake recipe that’s for non-bakers.
    1) Go to the bakery
    2) Tell the person behind the counter what you want written on the cake.
    This recipe never fails.

  4. Two French Bulldogs says:

    You better hide that pine cone. Happy Birthday sissy. It’s my birthday too
    Lily (& Edward)

  5. We LOVE pine cones too!! Happy Birthday sister!
    Wally & Sammy

  6. Cake is always good according to the hoomans

    xxxx

  7. dougalldog says:

    Oh, I like the sound of that cake!!!

  8. Yummy cake for people, but Molly adores that crunchy pine cone texture and sound…and as a bonus it leaves parts all over the house …staff must like those little bits because they always jump and hop with shouts of glee when they step on one!

Leave a Reply

