The Maremma Rule

See Me and Nellie in the afternoon sun, waiting for mummy to come home from town.

See Me and Nellie in the afternoon sun, waiting for mummy to come home from town.

Greeting loyal readers and fellow maremmas. Now as you all know, We three are all maremmas. Breed to guard flocks of sheep in the mountains of Italy. In the absence of any flocks of sheep around here, I must guard  and protect some one, and that some one is my mummy. I must be with her at ALL times. For some reason she doesn’t appreciate my need to be with her at ALL times. Sometimes she tries and sneak out of the house. She says it is much easier to put the chickens away without my assistance.So what do I do when mummy sneaks out.  Why I sit at the door and whine wait patiently until she comes back.  When she drives off in her little white car, I sit on the front veranda and wait for her to come home. I do not like to let her out of my sight.  But I am worried.  It would appear the mummy is leaving Me, Nellie and Itai for four whole days, while she goes to Wel-ling-ton for a conference.  We only have daddy with Us.  While daddy is fun, he is not my mummy.

My mummy was talking to the neighbour and I did not  like it, one little bit.

My mummy was talking to the neighbour and I did not like it, one little bit.

Think of Us, the bestest maremmas in all the land.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Maremma Rule

  1. I’m the same way! I have to follow my humans around and know what they’re doing at all times. I have to taste the food (to make sure it’s OK) and put my nose into everything. I sit at the door and whine when they go out without me. But cocker spaniels are not herding doggies. We’re companion doggies. Maybe that means the same thing … kind of.

  2. Sam and Elsa wait for me till I come back inside too. There must be something extra special about mom’s and how pups love ’em. 💗

  3. Oh no. Good luck with nobody to guard for 4 days. That will be boring. Try to have some fun and not watch out the window all day.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  4. b9k9 says:

    Hey you three, there’s always farmer Rae’s orchard.

    Just saying …

    Ninnie, the naughtiest Maremma in the Queen’s Land

  5. you’re so right…dad is not mom… and that can be a problem… butt on the other hand mom is not dad, that’s a problem too…

  6. Whee like to know when our hooman is home and keep an eye on them
    Afterall, what would they do without us?!

    xx

  7. Two French Bulldogs says:

    We see no reason you can’t help with those chickens
    Lily & Edward

Leave a Reply

